SMTP Error: [554] 5.7.1 <DATA>: Data command rejected: Sender access denied

• Hi

I've been running Kolab 16 on Centos 7 for a few months now having recent migrated from Zarafa groupware. I don't send may emails but receive a lot so it came as a bit of a surprise to find the sending emails was not working.

I'm getting sender access denied when trying to send messages within roundcube. I receive emails but sending just won't happen.

Postfix is reporting the following error:
    reject: DATA from localhost.localdomain[127.0.0.1]: 554 5.7.1 <DATA>: Data command rejected: Sender access denied.

I can't identify why this would be happening. Nor do I know where to look. I have no frame of reference to see if somethings has changed in the config files or if a program has been updated.

Can someone point me in the right direction please

Many Thanks.

• The same thing happens when upgrading from 3.4 to 16. But I haven't gone much deep through the issue, instead I had downgraded back from 16 to 3.4.

• Global Moderator

It's about postfix not allowing the sender to send to the receiver - not being able to access ..something (Sorry if you already guessed that - not trying to be a smarta...).

Where do you get this message?

If you miss inspiration; I would start looking in /var/log/maillog and get a more full message. That might tell you what it IS the sender is not allowed to access. Then take a look through:
    /etc/postfix/main.cf
    /etc/postfix/ldap/local_recipient_maps.cf
    /etc/postfix/ldap/mydestination.cf

Those are fairly well documented inside, and you might be able to find why the user is not allowed to access that .. thing.

/Mads

• @wiktor Well your right, I did guess that and no need to apologize.

The thing is, I don't remember changing those settings. What I need is an example of a postfix cf files from a clean install so I can compare with what I have.

from maillog: